Manchester United have handed Zlatan Ibrahimovic the No. 9 shirt for next season, meaning Anthony Martial has stepped aside.

The France international will instead wear No. 11 for the Red Devils with attacking midfielder Henrikh Mkhitaryan picking up the No. 22 jersey.

Ibrahimovic wore the No. 10 shirt for Paris Saint-Germain last season with Edinson Cavani occupying the No. 9.

The Swedish hit man may have craved United’s No. 10, too, but that was likely a non-starter given Wayne Rooney’s pull at the club, although Ibrahimovic claims he always had his eye on the No. 9 jersey.

Interestingly, though, the No. 6 shirt remains vacant after Jonny Evans joined West Brom last season.

This leaves the prospect of Paul Pogba taking that number, which he previously wore before changing to No. 10 last season with Juventus once Carlos Tevez had departed.

New centre-back Eric Bailly will wear the No. 3 shirt after the Ivorian joined from Villarreal.

Adnan Januzaj, who previously held the No. 11 shirt that Martial has picked up, will now take No. 15.

See the squad numbers below…


Facebook Comments
READ  Man City boss Guardiola answers what he think of Yaya Toure

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.