Leicester City’s fairytale season continues to be acknowledged as Riyad Mahrez collected the PFA Player of the Year award on Sunday.
Mahrez is enjoying a wonderful season for the Premier League leaders – having scored 17 goals and 11 assists in the top flight so far this season.
Mahrez poses with the PFA Player of the Year alongside Leicester City manager, Claudio Ranieri (left) and PFA chairman Ritchie Humphreys
The Algeria international has played an integral role for the champions-elect Foxes and was duly rewarded with the top individual award of the night at the Grosvenor Hotel in London.
Claudio Ranieri’s side need just five points from their remaining three games to be crowned champions of England for the first time in their history.
Jamie Vardy (right) was presented with a commemorative plate in recognition of his consecutive goalscoring record earlier this season
The forward beat Leicester team-mates, Jamie Vardy and N’Golo Kante to the award as well as Tottenham stiker Harry Kane, Arsenal playmaker Mesut Ozil and West Ham revelation Dimitri Payet.
Vardy came second in the voting, while Kane was third. The Leicester striker also collected a special award for his record-breaking streak of scoring in 11 consecutive Premier League matches.
Tottenham midfielder, Dele Alli has been named this season’s PFA Young Player of the Year after a wonderful breakthrough term
‘All the credit is for them, seriously,’ Mahrez said as he dedicated his success to his Leicester team-mates.
‘And for my manager and the staff. Without them I wouldn’t receive this award and I wouldn’t score. It’s the team spirit, and I want to dedicate it to them.
‘I’m very grateful to receive this award, it’s a pleasure. It’s extra special because if the players vote for me it’s because they’ve seen I’ve been great this year so I’m happy.
‘But it’s more team things. Without my team-mates I wouldn’t get this award.’
Manchester United assistant manager, Ryan Giggs has been accoladed with the PFA Merit Award
PFA Player of the Year: Riyad Mahrez
PFA Young Player of the Year: Dele Alli
PFA Merit award: Ryan Giggs
PFA Women’s Player of the Year: Izzy Christiansen
PFA Women’s Young Player of the Year: Beth Mead
Facebook Comments
READ  Ighalo facing 2-year jail over alleged bribery scandal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.