Marcus Rashford has been recalled to the England squad.

England caretaker boss Gareth Southgate also drafted in Jesse Lingard and pulled off a surprise by recalling Glen Johnson for the World Cup qualifiers with Malta and Slovenia.

Former Three Lions boss Sam Allardyce left 18-year-old Rashford out last time but the Manchester United striker scored a hat trick as the under-21s thrashed Norway last month.

That has done enough to get him back in the seniors with Harry Kane ruled out while United winger Lingard was called up after Liverpool’s Adam Lallana pulled out.

But Stoke right back Johnson, 32, was the shock inclusion but only got the call after Liverpool’s Nathaniel Clyne pulled out with a knee problem.

England squad

Fraser Forster (Southampton), Joe Hart (Torino, loan from Manchester City), Tom Heaton (Burnley), Ryan Bertrand (Southampton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Glen Johnson (Stoke City), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Michail Antonio (West Ham United), Jesse Lingard (Manchester United), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Theo Walcott (Arsenal), Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City)

Facebook Comments
READ  Court says Adam Johnson ‘abused his position in society'

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.