One more time the Argentine best was not good enough as Chile win their first major trophy.

After 120 minutes of goalless and drab display from both sides, it was down to the impartial judge called penalty to pick the winner.

Chile turned up for the shootout on their home soil, as they beat Argentina 4-1 on penalties, with Messi the only Argentine to score.

It has been 22 years since Argentina last won the competition and almost a year after losing the world cup, Messi could not get the national trophy he needed.

Facebook Comments
READ  Meet this guy who has given up his life to look like and work for Cristiano Ronaldo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.