France Football has announced that the Ballon d’Or award will now have new rules after it ended a six year contract with world football governing body, FIFA.

France Football said the award will now be decided by votes by select journalists, confirming the exclusion of national team coaches and captains.

The finalists will now increase to 30 players as opposed to 23 players while it was still the FIFA Ballon d’Or.

There will be no more shortlist of 3 finalists and the award will now take place before the end of the calendar year.

Lionel Messi won the award on a record four times while rival Cristiano Ronaldo clinched it twice.

Facebook Comments
READ  Chelsea ace Willian Revealed Why He Rejected The £30 Million Tottenham Deal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.