The National Universities Commission (NUC) has listed eleven Nigerian universities that have failed to meet the standards of the the commission.

The NUC stated that it denied the listed private universities full operational licenses over their inability to meet set standards three years after they were issued provisional licences, Premium Times reports.

The executive secretary of the universities commission, Julius Okojio, who was speaking at the presentation of the full operational licences to nine other private universities, explained that the 11 affected private universities were given two years to get their full operational licences, but failed to get them in three.

Wesley University of Science and Technology, Landmark University, Rhema University, Samuel Adegboyega University, Paul University, Oduduwa University, Tansian University, Baze University, Obong University, Achievers University and Wellspring University are the institutions listed.

Although he did not state any measure for the affected institutions, Okojie, noted that the provisional licence was intended to create room for effective mentoring and qualitative growth within the first three years of operation of a new private university.

“That was also part of NUC’s initiative for early warning signals to detect compromises in quality for the application of corrective and remedial measures to redress such situations.

“If we don’t monitor them now they will have problems. So they will slow down on programmes, (we) look at their staff strength and look at their programmes,” he was quoted to have said.

The vice chancellor of Caleb University,  Ayodeji Olukoju, who also lent his voice to the recent development, noted that private universities are the way forward for tertiary education in the country.

READ  IDP Who Raped Two 4-year-old Daughters Of His Host Has Confessed To The Crime

The institutions which got full operational licences include Veritas University, Caleb University, Geofery Okoye University, Fountain University, Adeleke University, Western Delta University, Afe Babalola University, Salem University and Nigerian Turkish Nile University.

The West African Examination Council (WAEC) recently became embroiled in a tussle between states that were owing it, but the issue seems to have been resolved.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.