President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday announced the appointment of Prof. Mahmood Yakubu as the National Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission and also named five new national commissioners for the electoral body.

Their appointments were consequently approved at the first Council of State meeting to be presided over by President Buhari. This development was disclosed to State House correspondents by Governor Aminu Tambuwal of Sokoto State after the meeting.

The new national commissioners include: Mrs. Amina Zakari (North-West); Dr. Anthonia Okoosi-Simbine, North Central, Alhaji Baba Shettima Arfo (North-East); Dr. Mohammed Mustafa Lecky (South-South) and Mr. Soyebi Adedeji Solomon (South-West). The South-East is believed to be left out because it still has a sitting national commissioner.

Facebook Comments
READ  WARNING: Hoodlums May Take Over Nigeria – Afenifere

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.